To live an intentional life.

1 Oct

tiny_house_flickr_tammy_strobel_600

This weekend, Eric and I sat down to watch the documentary “Tiny”, which is about a man who bought a piece of land out in the mountains of Colorado and decided to build a tiny house on wheels.  It was really moving and also didn’t hide all the struggles that sometimes go along with following your dreams and living an intentional life.  I’ve come to realize how many decisions we humans tend to make out of fear, almost automatically.  Somehow these unintentional decisions start to add up over time, and one day we look around and wonder how we got here.  I’ve been thinking about this more these days, that idea of making very intentional decisions every day.

Life moves quickly.  Sometimes autopilot seems like the easiest and most efficient option.  However, I worry of where that will really take me.  Will it take me where I want to go?

I just finished with grad school.  Everything about grad school was intentional:  the decision to apply, where I applied, the university I chose, the courses I took, the professional experiences I undertook.  Now, having finished my MPH and starting a new full-time job, I have found living intentionally more difficult.

This summer, I had such an amazing experience doing research in East Africa.  It was such a life changing experience in so many ways, and I have grown to love the cultural discomfort that comes with flying to a foreign country where I don’t know the language and immersing myself in day-to-day life.  I’m still trying to process this summer and what it meant to me.

I find myself thinking, “So what now??” Life has changed so dramatically in such a short period of time that I find myself in a period of transition and re-evaluation.  I keep coming back to the idea that I really want to live an intentional life.  I want every decision I make to be very intentional and in line with what I want in the future and my values.

To me, living a simple life with less possessions has been the most effective way for me to live intentionally.  And the tiny house movement shown through the documentary “Tiny” is a really cool representation of how living intentionally can change someone’s life.

The more I think about what I want out of life, the more that little tiny house in the mountains sounds like a good idea….

  “I went to the woods because I wished to live deliberately…”
― Henry David Thoreau

2 Responses to “To live an intentional life.”

  1. Unc October 3, 2014 at 10:58 AM #

    Sounds good to me…a lot of what I do as an adult is Necessary, but not my intention. Trying to fulfill your intentions can cause tension because it rubs up against the pragmatic and the conventional … I’ve never been accused of being either. You’ll find a lot of resistance along the road less traveled from those who are threatened by you. I’m sure you now know that that is a good indication that you are on the right track! (I used ‘that’ 3 times in a sentence!)
    I’m very excited for you and Eric, and I can’t wait to see what you two come up with. It’s always an adventure, and it should be! Love you! Unc

  2. Daly December 2, 2014 at 4:00 PM #

    I have seen the movie but I missed the bicycle parked next to the tiny house.

Leave a Reply

