Tanzania or Bust!

16 May

ImageAdventure is knocking on my door!  Spring semester is officially over, which means that the time has come for me to take my month long trip to Africa.  I’ll be working on a mHealth pilot project with my professor, Dr. Deborah Thomas, to help connect Prevention of Mother to Child Transmisstion of HIV (PMTCT) services through cell phones and geographic information systems (GIS).  Needless to say, I am really excited about this opportunity as it will be my first time in Africa.

I will predominately be located in Mwanza, which is the second largest city in Tanzania.  I am excited to be able to go and experience everything that I have learned first-hand.  Additionally, after my month long practicum, Eric and I will be taking some time to travel to other areas of the country. Throughout my stay, instead of emailing everyone, I’ll be posting to my blog so that my friends and family as well as other global health advocates can learn and benefit from my experiences.

As I prepare to leave for Tanzania and walk in my commencement ceremony this following week, it’s hard not to think about the future and how my life will change in the following year.  So much hard work and effort has been put into receiving my Master of Public Health.  I am looking forward to the opportunity to take action and use my education to better the health of under-served populations.

I’m sure my trip will be a life changing experience, and I appreciate Dr. Thomas, Eric, my parents, and all those along the way that made this possible for me.  Thanks for your interest in my travels, and I will post updates as often as possible!

“Twenty years from now you will be more disappointed by the things that you didn’t do than by the ones you did do. So throw off the bowlines. Sail away from the safe harbor. Catch the trade winds in your sails. Explore. Dream. Discover.” ~ Mark Twain

In Health and Happiness,

Kacy

2 Responses to “Tanzania or Bust!”

  1. Patty Janes May 18, 2014 at 10:45 AM #

    Kacy, how exciting and what a wonderful experience for u!!
    I’m so happy that Eric will be able to join u in Africa! You two will have wonderful memories of this adventure to share for a lifetime (just one of many, I’m sure!)
    Thanks for blogging on this trip…I will be an avid follower!
    And, honey, congratulations on ur graduation! I can’t tell u how proud I am of u…you searched ur heart, found ur passion, and stayed the course! Bravo!
    We love u very much!
    Have fun and God’s blessings every day!
    Mimi

  2. Kathy Crawford May 28, 2014 at 11:38 PM #

    Kacy, We are very proud of you. This will be a wonderful experience for you and a way to help make the world a better place. Bon Voyage!
    Mom and Dad

Leave a Reply

